Don't Cut Our Trees - We Can't Breathe

#SaveMelneasTrees

Your help

is needed to preserve the life-sustaining benefits these trees provide to the Roxbury neighborhood

These are actions you can take:

Report to 311

Contact city services to let them know that you do not want over 350 trees to be removed or damaged as a result of the reconstruction project. 

Call 311 or dial 617-635-4500

Use the BOS:311 app, available on the App Store and Google Play

Use this form to complete a report online

Tweet @BOS311

Describe your concerns about how the removal of trees will affect the Roxbury community through increased asthma rates and heat-related illnesses, among other issues!

‚Äč

Call and E-mail

Please call or email the officials below and tell then that you don't want the trees on Melnea Cass Boulevard to be destroyed or damaged

Mayor Walsh: Call 311 and ask for the Mayor's office or mayor@boston.gov

Joyce Linehan, Chief of Policy: 617-635-1414 or joyce.linehan@boston.gov

Karilyn Crockett, Chief of Equity: karilyn.crockett@boston.gov

City Council President Kim Janey: 617-635-3510 or kim.janey@boston.gov

You can also call:

U.S. Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley's District Office: 617-850-0040

State Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz: 617-722-1673 or sonia.chang-diaz@masenate.gov

State Representative Jon Santiago: 617-722-2130 or jon.santiago@mahouse.gov

State Representative Chynah Tyler: chynah.tyler@mahouse.gov

Marty Martinez, Health & Suman Services: 617-635-1845 or marty.martinez@boston.gov
 

Here is an example of what you can say:

"I'm calling as a [resident/business owner] of [Boston/Roxbury] to ask the Mayor to change the roadway development project on Melnea Cass Boulevard. I'm aware that 350+ trees will be cut down or injured as a result of this plan. I urge you to consider the environmental, economic, and public health effects that loosing these trees will have on a majority Black and Latinx community. We must put an end to the project as it is currently designed."